A Child Not Born Today

Today was my due date. I’m not where I thought I’d be. I’m stronger and still frighteningly vulnerable. For all in my life that I have to be so, so thankful for, today brings with it a sting of pain. I couldn’t have imagined how my heart might feel today, and strong or not, it seems its out of my hands after all.
I’ve written this poem.

A Child Not Born Today

A child not born today
Does not breathe
Does not cry

A child not born today
Does not wriggle, whimper
Sigh

A child not born today
Gathers no family
To the room

For the not born child’s not birthday
Is a day forgotten
Soon

A child not born today
A tiny child, gone away
Who’s footprint left so small a mark, it seems

Is a child not held today
No matter how much I would pay.
This child’s only cradle is a dream

When that child’s not born today
I feel that imprint in a way
That lies beneath a surface you can’t see

For that tiny boy or girl
Left a huge mark on this world
Though the only world this child knew was me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to A Child Not Born Today

  1. I’m so sorry. My heart hurts for you. I haven’t made it to my due date yet but I can’t imagine that it will be an easy day. Praying for you.

  2. wombwarrior says:

    I’m so, so sorry 😦 I’ll be thinking about you today.

  3. very beautiful and wonderful tribute to your baby not born…I love the line “This child’s only cradle is a dream”

  4. blueorchid82 says:

    I love this. Thinking of you.

  5. v0mich01 says:

    This is beautiful.

  6. Aimee says:

    My due date would have been soon, I believe, but I don’t know the exact day. I can’t imagine how it must feel to know the exact date. Mine didn’t even last until the dating scan. Stay as strong as you are, you’re doing incredibly well and your blog is very inspirational. The poem is beautiful. x

Comments are closed.