Cold, Cold Heart

The icy fingers of the wind slip below my skin

frosty grip searing through my veins

The black night sky hangs in the trees

and distant stars sparkle.

a smile, a breath, a life, a heart

my hands reach out towards a light

it sparkles out of reach, so far from my grasp

Each moment I stare unblinking

I hear the far away tick of the clock, the clink of chimes, of wind over bottles

and I hold my breath tight

wondering, waiting, darkly dreaming

that a new star will appear

so high, so bright

and so out of reach

the cold touch of breeze slides through my soul

and clutches my heart fast

I long for warm, for light, for sleep

I long for calm, for safe, for day,

for an armful of stars, tangible and touched,

to feel the sting of heat, to hear the crackle, to wrap my fingers around a handful of starlight

I long

for an answer to a question I’m afraid to ask.

 

 

Tonight, this song speaks to me. Melancholy and lovely, and hauntingly hopeless.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cold, Cold Heart

  1. eli says:

    This is somewhat of an ironic post to leave this comment on, I guess, but I wanted to let you know I’ve nominated you for a Sunshine Award. Thanks for doing what you do! http://eliscorner.wordpress.com/2013/10/12/sunshine-award/

    • CGsaysstuff says:

      Thank you, that’s so sweet :). I’ll have to take some time to learn about it, I’m new to blogging, so I’m kind of in the dark :). And here’s hoping for some more upbeat posts in the future, I sense some rays of sunshine around the corner.

Comments are closed.